Peter Jackson Honoured With Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame

Just a moment ago (8th Dec. 2014), Kiwi director, Peter Jackson was awarded with his Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Jackson is not only a director but also a screenwriter and producer who is famous for his film trilogies – Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. He has also directed various other films such as The Frighteners, starring Michael J. Fox, the remake of the classic King Kong, and The Lovely Bones. He has also produced other great blockbusters such as District 9, and The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn.

This is the man that sparked off my interest in films and film making. I remember watching over and over again the behind-the-scenes videos of The Two Towers and The Fellowship of the Ring, absorbing the magic involved in movie making and the hours and hours of work that went into them. I was inspired to say the least, and at that point discovered that there’s such a job as a film director. And this is what he said that really strike me at that point in time:

No film has captivated my imagination more than ‘King Kong.’ I’m making movies today because I saw this film when I was 9 years old.

And for me that was what Lord of the Rings meant to me. For that I am extremely happy that Jackson is finally getting his Star on the Walk of Fame (that took long enough).

If you’re interested in the (extremely) short speeches that were given during the ceremony, you can jump to 38 minutes into the video for Andy Serkis’ 2 minute speech, followed by Jackson’s 3 minute speech.

Source: http://www.3news.co.nz/entertainment/peter-jackson-receives-star-on-hollywood-walk-of-fame-2014120908
Source: http://www.3news.co.nz/entertainment/peter-jackson-receives-star-on-hollywood-walk-of-fame-2014120908

I can’t wait to see what this man has installed for the coming years for his audience. 🙂

Platypus

Leave a Reply

