Iron Man 3 (2013)

Iron Man 3
Running Time: 130 minutes

Photo Credit: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures & Marvel
Photo Credit: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures & Marvel

Directed by: Shane Black
Starring: Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Guy Pearce, Don Cheadle

Iron Man is back with its third installment, with the charismatic Tony Stark/Iron Man (Downey Jr) finding himself a little bit lost after the incident in New York and his get-together with the Avengers gang. So, when Stark finds himself an enemy who is a fan of the Art of War, a guy craving for revenge and the world, an enemy who knows no boundaries, his world comes crumbling down as he is tested not only on his wits, his intelligence, but also his responsibilities, choices and the person he wants to be.

As the movie that kick-started the summer blockbuster films, this was an amazing superhero film! I mean don’t get me wrong, I was never really much of an Iron Man fan, I had/have always been a Thor/Captain America fan (movie wise). But this film truly was something else when compared to its previous two installments. I think Shane Black coming onboard and taking the reign for Iron Man was one of the best decisions/pass-over made. Surprisingly (to me) this was only the 3rd film he directed, being more of a scriptwriter who did lots of amazing work previously such as the Lethal Weapon trilogy and so on. This was not bad. I like the feel he brought to the storyline and the direction.

Photo Credit: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures & Marvel
Photo Credit: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures & Marvel

There were more emotions involved with Tony Stark this time around, which I think is great, after all his past victories, to be frank it’s good to see Stark a little more down-to-earth, and a little less egoistic (I mean it’s not like he’s not anymore, he still is, just less) but still as funny as before, and in some ways he’s even funnier in now than before. And for once, I find myself liking Gwyneth Paltrow’s role as Pepper Potts. No longer as only a damsel in distress, yelling after the hero. The other thing about this film that topped the previous two in my point of view is the villain. I think Shane Black and Drew Pearce (the writers) did a fantastic job with bringing the villain to life. It was no longer just a villain that audiences tend to laugh at; he’s not your typical superhero villain. And I think this is also strongly due to Guy Pearce’s portrayal of the man, he really captivated my attention throughout the film with his charisma. Speaking of villains, Sir Ben Kingsley was equally amazing in his part (and I don’t want to give it all away, so that’s all I’m going to comment on that).

Robert Downey Jr on the other hand, well, he did his usual act as the rich millionaire without a worry in the world because of his ability and intelligence to simply fix everything, but because of the script this time around, I loved the fact that he’s given more flexibility and space to explore with the character, and this allows the audiences to see him more than just the man in the suit. I think that’s just great.

And of course, when it comes to superhero films, we’ve got to talk about the special effects. I was pretty impressed with this one. Throughout the film, especially with the action sequences and the explosions, I think the special effects team did a wonderful job on it to make it as believable as possible. The score for the film was just right to set the mood of the scenes; it definitely reminded me of The Avengers’ score and a little bit of Dark Knight’s. I also love that in this film, it’s not tinted with a lot blue or green or yellow or orange for that matter, I like the fact that they stick to a tone that gives it a more natural colour to the whole setting instead of your typically over-saturated film.

So, I hope I didn’t spoil anything for any of you out there. Overall, Iron Man 3 is an enjoyable, entertaining and at times uplifting summer blockbuster that did an amazing job as a follow-up to The Avengers. I cannot wait for Thor’s sequel. Oh and one more thing, as all the other previous Marvel films, don’t leave the cinema until the credits are done rolling. 😉

Rating: 8 out of 10
Platypus.

Leave a Reply

