Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

Silver Linings Playbook (2012)
Running Time: 122 minutes

Photo Credit: The Weinstein Company
Photo Credit: The Weinstein Company

Directed by: David O. Russell
Starring: Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro, Jacki Weaver

Silver Linings is based on a novel by Matthew Quick, the film focuses on Pat Solatano Jr. (Cooper), who was discharged from a mental health institution after his caring mother, Dolores (Weaver) signed for a release. The story follows Pat as he moves back in with his parents and trying to win back his wife who has left him and has a restraining order against him.  As part of the condition of his release, Pat has mandatory therapy sessions, and is required to take medication, however he feels like he can handle himself by living healthily and searching for the “silver linings” in his life. It was then that he met Tiffany Maxwell (Lawrence), who is also battling her own demons, and as Pat Jr. and Tiffany’s friendship progresses, Pat Jr. begins to reevaluate his goals and way of life…

As a fan of David O. Russell films, I was excited to hear that this film was getting all the Oscar buzz and so on… and I knew I could not miss this film. So, after finally devouring it, there are a couple of things in the film that I find myself loving and a few that I was just puzzled over. First things first, I really enjoyed the screenplay, the storyline of the movie was brilliant. It’s not easy to write a script that is emotional, funny, eccentric, romantic, and troubling. A lot of the content really caught my attention, and I especially loved De Niro’s final lines in the movie, I think it really stayed with the audience. The other thing I really liked about the film is the cast, the acting overall was solid. It’s not easy to play such emotional characters and even harder for those with its own mental issues.

This movie didn’t hit me the way The Fighter or I Heart Huckabees did, but it’s definitely one of David O. Russell’s best films. I’m glad that its gotten all the attention it could from the movie world, and hopefully created some sort of an awareness to the world of bipolar disorders.

Rating: 7 ½ out of 10
Platypus

Leave a Reply

