The Oscars 2013!

The 85th Academy Awards

So after close to a week since the Oscars happened, I finally found time to catch up with it. With all the excitement I could muster, I started the show and after 40 minutes into it, I decided to write this piece alongside it.

The show started with Seth MacFarlane’s – the host – monologue. The first thing that came to my mind was his voice, for some reason after watching Ted, I didn’t expect the voice to be so deep and rich. His monologue was pretty funny, but it hit me when Captain Kirk of Star Trek appeared on a large screen in the backdrop. The show was then followed by a string of singing and dancing of the classics, joined by stars such as Channing Tatum, Charlize Theron, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and Daniel Radcliffe. It was entertaining, but a part of me felt when is the awards gonna start?

After all the glamour, Octavia Spencer came on stage to present the Best Supporting Actor to Christoph Waltz for Django Unchained. I couldn’t be happier. Oh and the other thing that surprised me was Life of Pi’s win for Visual Effect, well not because they won but because I just found out that the company that was responsible for it was based on M’sia, so that’s pretty exciting stuff for me. Reese Witherspoon with a gorgeous blue gown followed with the presentation of the Best Picture nominees – Life of Pi, Beasts of Southern Wild, and Les Miserables.

Many stars came and went as the awards are being handed out, nothing much that struck me until Halle Berry came on to honor James Bond’s 50th Anniversary in the industry. For some really odd reason, this struck me as surprising. I think partially it had something to do with the fact that I was never really much of a Bond fan but… I have more to learn about them, since I have yet to catch up with the latest one and the classics. How terrible of me.

Oh and of course, how could I have left out, the 6 individuals who won the contest to have the chance to be the responsible ones to bring the Oscar statues on stage. I was so happy when I heard about the news. It’s nice to see the future filmmakers had a chance to be surrounded and experience what their future may look like.

Liam Neeson! Woo! I didn’t know he was there! With the famous serious and deep, and a hint of Irish accent, Mr Neeson presented the remaining nominees of Best Picture – Argo, Lincoln, and Zero Dark Thirty. Next highlight for me was John Travolta’s appearance, to celebrate music and film with the likes of Chicago with an appearance by Catherine Zeta Jones and all that jazzy-bling, then, Jennifer Hudson belching out an incredible mash-up from Dreamgirls, and lastly the cast of Les Mis with the song One Day More. And undoubtedly, it ended with a standing ovation. No matter how many times I’ve watched or listened to Les Mis, it still gets me, and I still feel goosebumps to the emotionally filled music.

Mark Wahlberg and TED! Fantastic. I guess it’s pretty much the only chance Seth MacFarlane will get to be fully inappropriate. Then of course, there’s Anne Hathaway’s win for Best Supporting Actress. Surprisingly mellow speech compared to her usual self. But I’m truly happy for her.

Adele! WOO!!! The idea that someone could just stand there and sing and made everyone feel the emotions from the song is amazing. And of course, the orchestra and choir in the background did a fantastic job. The only thing I want to point out is her dress, which seemed to blend in with the background at times… Hmm…

Nicole Kidman then came on stage to present the following Best Picture nominees – Silver Linings Playbook, Django Unchained, and Amour. Then the memorium for the likes of MIchael Clarke Duncan, Nora Ephron, Tony Scott, and sadly, many others. As the screen showed the amazing talents, it slowly fades to a performance by Barbra Streissand of ‘Memories.’

Then, another commemoration… this time to 10 years since Chicago won the Oscars. Hmm… this is starting to look suspicious… So, halfway through the nominees, Norah Jones come on to sing? No words to describe that…

And Adele’s raw and quirky-ness on-stage during her speech is just adorable. The next speech that really struck me.. strangely was Chris Terrio’s for Argo. I’m not sure what it is.. the genuine-ness of it all maybe…?

Ang Lee!!! “Thank you movie god! ”

Jean Dujardin presenting the Best Actress… an adorable speech indeed. Ooo.. she tripped! Jennifer Lawrence I mean… Good speech though.

Then came Meryl Streep!!! And a standing ovation for Daniel Day-Lewis, with a surprisingly funny speech. Followed by Jack Nicholson and the special guest, Michelle Obama to present the Best Picture. An interesting award show indeed… Ben Afflecks seemingly nervous yet inspiring speech. Aww…

And that’s it I guess for the Oscars of 2013.

Thanks,
Platypus

One thought on “The Oscars 2013!

  1. Hey there I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was looking on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

Leave a Reply

